Poem to the Ancestors

Poem to the Ancestors

 

Fisher woman

Coastal dweller

Hearty and hale

Arms strong from

Work, belly large from

Many children, breasts ample

They have fed and

Nourished, you

Have fed and

Nourished

Seed

That was strong, like

Your arms as

You carry large

Fish…..swimming

Through time, through

The countless back-

wards gazing at

a long line of

fisherwomen swimming

in you to them in

me forever

swimming forward gazing

back through time, in

time, in

countless generations your

legacy lives in

me, my blood, my

children, my

children’s children.

~

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

About earthypoetgrrl

Greetings! I am a CathloBuddahPagan that lives in the rolling Flint Hills of NC Kansas. I am a woman of many hats, including but not limited to: newlywed, momma to 7 wonderfully creative children and 2--soon 3 grandbabies, freelance writer, long-time 'ziner, ("Talmidim" and "Letters to my Daughters") lay herbalist, social work student, and happy camper.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

