Herbal Pharmacopoeia 2012–March

Image

Is a picture necessary?! Spring has come way early this year. We barely had any winter and are now having days in the 70’s and nights in the 50’s. All this, of course, is bound to the moodiness of Kansas–but I think it’s safe to say we won’t be having any more icy blasts from the North! In my gardens we herald the triumphant return of yarrow, painted daisies, hollyhocks, calendula, comfrey, oregano, chives, sage, lavender, chickory, parsley; many others, and I’m excited to see last Autumns planting of garlic coming up! In the yard the grass is greening and there are copious amounts of henbit and Persian speedwell. The speedwell is a low grower with very small, bright blue flowers. I used to call them fairie flowers when I was a child. (OK…I still do!) I do not use these for any reason, but the first of wildcrafting and gathering beneficial plants in the wild begins this year with Dandelion Leaf. This early spring green contains beta-carotene, vit. B1 and 2, choline, folic acid, vit. C, calcium, iron, maganese, phosphorus, potassium. Many people enjoy eating the greens but I will be drying a large stash to use in my tea formulas–particularly those that will benefit the liver, kidney and bladder. 

About earthypoetgrrl

Greetings! I am a CathloBuddahPagan that lives in the rolling Flint Hills of NC Kansas. I am a woman of many hats, including but not limited to: newlywed, momma to 7 wonderfully creative children and 2--soon 3 grandbabies, freelance writer, long-time 'ziner, ("Talmidim" and "Letters to my Daughters") lay herbalist, social work student, and happy camper.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

